Marc Finkelstein, MD

As reported to Medicare

Credential
MD
Primary specialty
General Surgery
Medical school graduation
1980
National Provider Identifier (NPI)
1801892906
Practice location

Hampton Bays, New York

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

CMS does not report a mastectomy volume for this clinician in the October 2, 2026 release.

CMS publishes a procedure volume only for clinicians who billed Original Medicare or Medicare Advantage for one or more procedures in this category during the period a release covers.

This clinician may therefore have performed the procedure one or more times during that period without billing Medicare for it.

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (October 2, 2026 release).

Previous data releases

The table shows this clinician's figures from each CMS data release.

CMS data release Mastectomy procedures billed Percentile rank
October 2, 2026 Current Not reported Not reported
August 18, 2026 Prior 1-10 58% or below
August 11, 2026 Prior 1-10 58% or below
June 26, 2026 Prior 1-10 58% or below

CMS does not publish the start and end dates of the window behind any release, and consecutive releases may cover overlapping periods, or the same period with later-arriving claims added.

Understanding CMS Data

This count includes partial removal of the breast (lumpectomy), removal of the whole breast, breast reconstruction after mastectomy, and the other breast procedures CMS lists in its "Mastectomy" category. CMS reports only procedures that clinicians billed to Original Medicare and Medicare Advantage. Therefore, CMS's procedure volume data does not include procedures that clinicians may have performed on patients who have other health care coverage (e.g., commercial insurance, self-pay, or the VA). Billing variation and coding errors can also affect CMS's data. Therefore, the number of procedures that CMS reports for a clinician may be higher or lower than the actual number of mastectomy procedures a clinician performed during the reporting period. Lastly, only clinicians with a primary specialty of General Surgery or Surgical Oncology (as reported to Medicare) are presented.

We use CMS's percentile formula with a narrower comparison group than CMS's own, so our percentile can differ from the one CMS publishes.

How CMS counts mastectomy procedures, and how we calculate the percentile