Orlando Galindez, MD

As reported to Medicare

Credential
MD
Primary specialty
Ophthalmology
Medical school graduation
1991
Medical school
Tulane University School of Medicine
National Provider Identifier (NPI)
1649267592
Practice location

Miami, Florida

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

CMS does not report a cataract surgery volume for this clinician in the August 18, 2026 release.

CMS publishes a procedure volume only for clinicians who billed Original Medicare or Medicare Advantage for one or more procedures in this category during the period a release covers.

This clinician may therefore have performed the procedure one or more times during that period without billing Medicare for it.

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (August 18, 2026 release).

Previous data releases

CMS refreshes this data "on a quarterly basis, as technically feasible." The table shows this clinician's figures from each CMS data release.

CMS data release Cataract surgeries billed Percentile rank
August 18, 2026 Current Not reported Not reported
August 11, 2026 Prior Not reported Not reported
June 26, 2026 Prior 33 32%

About these releases. Each release counts procedures over what CMS describes as "a one-year observation window, with a lookback beginning three months prior to the present day", allowing three months for claims to be submitted and processed. CMS does not publish the start and end dates of the window behind any release, and consecutive releases may cover overlapping periods, or the same period with later-arriving claims added.

Understanding CMS Data

CMS's "Cataract surgery" category combines specific billing codes for cataract surgery to calculate the number of times each clinician billed Medicare for a "Cataract surgery." These include lens replacement surgery and YAG laser capsulotomy, a laser treatment that can follow cataract surgery. CMS reports only procedures that clinicians billed to Original Medicare and Medicare Advantage. Therefore, CMS's procedure volume data does not include procedures that clinicians may have performed on patients who have other health care coverage (e.g., commercial insurance, self-pay, or the VA). Billing variation and coding errors can also affect CMS's data. Therefore, the number of procedures that CMS reports for a clinician may be higher or lower than the actual number of cataract surgeries a clinician performed during the reporting period. Lastly, only clinicians with a primary specialty of Ophthalmology (as reported to Medicare) are presented.

National Percentile Calculation

CMS publishes its own percentile for this data using a single, national pool that also includes clinicians with a primary specialty of Optometry. We use CMS's percentile formula, but restrict the comparison group to clinicians with a primary specialty of Ophthalmology, so our number answers a narrower question: how does this clinician's procedure volume compare with other clinicians who billed Medicare for at least one cataract surgery and reported that as their primary specialty?