Hector Picon, MD

As reported to Medicare

Credential
MD
Primary specialty
Medical school graduation
1982
Medical school
Harvard Medical School
National Provider Identifier (NPI)
1457416869

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

CMS does not report a coronary angioplasty and stenting volume for this clinician in the August 18, 2026 release.

CMS publishes a procedure volume only for clinicians who billed Original Medicare or Medicare Advantage for one or more procedures in this category during the period a release covers.

This clinician may therefore have performed the procedure one or more times during that period without billing Medicare for it.

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (August 18, 2026 release).

Previous data releases

CMS refreshes this data "on a quarterly basis, as technically feasible." The table shows this clinician's figures from each CMS data release.

CMS data release Coronary angioplasty and stenting procedures billed Percentile rank
August 18, 2026 Current Not reported Not reported
August 11, 2026 Prior 16 41%
June 26, 2026 Prior 16 41%

About these releases. Each release counts procedures over what CMS describes as "a one-year observation window, with a lookback beginning three months prior to the present day", allowing three months for claims to be submitted and processed. CMS does not publish the start and end dates of the window behind any release, and consecutive releases may cover overlapping periods, or the same period with later-arriving claims added.

Understanding CMS Data

CMS's "Coronary angioplasty and stenting" category combines specific billing codes for treating the arteries of the heart to calculate the number of times each clinician billed Medicare for "Coronary angioplasty and stenting." These include balloon angioplasty, stent placement, plaque removal, and related catheter treatments, which patients often call heart stents or coronary stents. CMS names the category for the group of procedures it covers, not for what each one involved: a procedure counts whether or not it included a stent. CMS reports only procedures that clinicians billed to Original Medicare and Medicare Advantage. Therefore, CMS's procedure volume data does not include procedures that clinicians may have performed on patients who have other health care coverage (e.g., commercial insurance, self-pay, or the VA). Billing variation and coding errors can also affect CMS's data. Therefore, the number of procedures that CMS reports for a clinician may be higher or lower than the actual number of coronary angioplasty and stenting procedures a clinician performed during the reporting period. Lastly, only clinicians with a primary specialty of interventional cardiology, cardiology and its subspecialties, cardiac or thoracic surgery, or internal medicine (as reported to Medicare) are presented.

National Percentile Calculation

CMS publishes its own percentile for this data using a single, national pool that also includes clinicians with other primary specialties, such as Nurse Practitioner and Hospitalist. We use CMS's percentile formula, but restrict the comparison group to clinicians with a primary specialty of interventional cardiology, cardiology and its subspecialties, cardiac or thoracic surgery, or internal medicine, so our number answers a narrower question: how does this clinician's procedure volume compare with other clinicians who billed Medicare for at least one coronary angioplasty and stenting procedure and reported one of those as their primary specialty?