Kristal Young, MD

As reported to Medicare

Credential
MD
Primary specialty
Medical school graduation
2013
Medical school
University of Hawaii John A. Burns School of Medicine
National Provider Identifier (NPI)
1053631960

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

# of Coronary Angioplasty and Stenting Procedures Billed to Medicare
1-10

Total number of coronary angioplasty and stenting procedures this clinician billed to Medicare in the most recent 12-month claims period, according to CMS.

Why is it showing a range? To protect patient privacy, CMS reports a "1-10" range for the number of procedures when a clinician bills Medicare only one to ten times for qualifying procedures.

Percentile Rank (%)
30% or below

A range of 1-10 procedures places a clinician at or below the 30th percentile.

The figures above reflect only procedures that this clinician billed to Medicare, according to CMS. Therefore, they may not reflect the total number of procedures this clinician performed during the 12-month reporting period. See Understanding CMS Data below.

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (October 2, 2026 release).

Kristal Young's Coronary Angioplasty and Stenting Billing Volume Compared to Peers

This clinician: 30th percentile or below 0% 20% 40% 60% 80% 100% 0 1-10 25th pct. 20 Median 38 75th pct. 656 Highest # of Coronary Angioplasty and Stenting Procedures Billed to Medicare Percentile Rank (%) This clinician: 30th percentile or below 0% 20% 40% 60% 80% 100% 0 1-10 25th pct. 20 Median 38 75th pct. 656 Highest # of Coronary Angioplasty and Stenting Procedures Billed to Medicare Percentile Rank (%)

CMS reports this clinician's count as a range rather than an exact number, so no single point can be marked. Every clinician CMS reports as 1-10 sits below every clinician with an exact count above that range, which puts them at or below the 30th percentile: the highlighted block. The shaded block covers the 2,626 clinicians CMS reports as 1-10, because CMS suppresses counts below 11.

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (October 2, 2026 release).

Coronary angioplasty and stenting procedures billed to Medicare at each tenth percentile of clinicians with a primary specialty of interventional cardiology, cardiology and its subspecialties, cardiac or thoracic surgery, or internal medicine. This clinician: CMS reports a range, so they sit at or below the 30th percentile.
PercentileCoronary Angioplasty and Stenting Procedures billed to Medicare
30th11
40th15
50th20
60th26
70th33
80th43
90th63
Highest656

Other procedures CMS reports for Kristal Young

CMS counts each of these procedures separately, so the counts are never added together, and each percentile compares this clinician with a different group of clinicians.

Procedure Procedures billed Percentile rank
Varicose vein ablation 12 47%

Previous data releases

The table shows this clinician's figures from each CMS data release.

CMS data release Coronary angioplasty and stenting procedures billed Percentile rank
October 2, 2026 Current 1-10 30% or below
August 18, 2026 Prior Not reported Not reported
August 11, 2026 Prior Not reported Not reported
June 26, 2026 Prior Not reported Not reported

CMS does not publish the start and end dates of the window behind any release, and consecutive releases may cover overlapping periods, or the same period with later-arriving claims added.

Understanding CMS Data

This count includes balloon angioplasty, stent placement, plaque removal, and related catheter treatments of the arteries of the heart. A procedure counts whether or not it included a stent. CMS reports only procedures that clinicians billed to Original Medicare and Medicare Advantage. Therefore, CMS's procedure volume data does not include procedures that clinicians may have performed on patients who have other health care coverage (e.g., commercial insurance, self-pay, or the VA). Billing variation and coding errors can also affect CMS's data. Therefore, the number of procedures that CMS reports for a clinician may be higher or lower than the actual number of coronary angioplasty and stenting procedures a clinician performed during the reporting period. Lastly, only clinicians with a primary specialty of interventional cardiology, cardiology and its subspecialties, cardiac or thoracic surgery, or internal medicine (as reported to Medicare) are presented.

We use CMS's percentile formula with a narrower comparison group than CMS's own, so our percentile can differ from the one CMS publishes.

How CMS counts coronary angioplasty and stenting procedures, and how we calculate the percentile