Gary Drillings, MD
As reported to Medicare
- Credential
- MD
- Primary specialty
- Orthopedic Surgery
- Medical school graduation
- 1985
- Medical school
- State University of Ny Upstate Medical University
- National Provider Identifier (NPI)
- 1033208491
CMS does not report a hip replacement volume for this clinician in the August 18, 2026 release.
CMS publishes a procedure volume only for clinicians who billed Original Medicare or Medicare Advantage for one or more procedures in this category during the period a release covers.
This clinician may therefore have performed the procedure one or more times during that period without billing Medicare for it.
Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (August 18, 2026 release).
Previous data releases
CMS refreshes this data "on a quarterly basis, as technically feasible." The table shows this clinician's figures from each CMS data release.
| CMS data release | Hip replacements billed | Percentile rank |
|---|---|---|
| August 18, 2026 Current | Not reported | Not reported |
| August 11, 2026 Prior | 1-10 | 46% or below |
| June 26, 2026 Prior | 1-10 | 46% or below |
About these releases. Each release counts procedures over what CMS describes as "a one-year observation window, with a lookback beginning three months prior to the present day", allowing three months for claims to be submitted and processed. CMS does not publish the start and end dates of the window behind any release, and consecutive releases may cover overlapping periods, or the same period with later-arriving claims added.
Understanding CMS Data
CMS's "Hip replacement" category combines specific billing codes for hip replacement surgery to calculate the number of times each clinician billed Medicare for a "Hip replacement." These include first-time hip replacement, partial hip replacement, and revision of a previous hip replacement. The category does not include every operation that implants a hip prosthesis: CMS leaves out the billing code that covers hip replacement to treat a broken hip, so those operations do not count toward this total. CMS reports only procedures that clinicians billed to Original Medicare and Medicare Advantage. Therefore, CMS's procedure volume data does not include procedures that clinicians may have performed on patients who have other health care coverage (e.g., commercial insurance, self-pay, or the VA). Billing variation and coding errors can also affect CMS's data. Therefore, the number of procedures that CMS reports for a clinician may be higher or lower than the actual number of hip replacements a clinician performed during the reporting period. Lastly, only clinicians with a primary specialty of Orthopedic Surgery, Sports Medicine, or Hand Surgery (as reported to Medicare) are presented.
National Percentile Calculation
CMS publishes its own percentile for this data using a single, national pool that also includes clinicians with a primary specialty of Physician Assistant or Nurse Practitioner. We use CMS's percentile formula, but restrict the comparison group to clinicians with a primary specialty of Orthopedic Surgery, Sports Medicine, or Hand Surgery, so our number answers a narrower question: how does this clinician's procedure volume compare with other clinicians who billed Medicare for at least one hip replacement and reported one of those as their primary specialty?