Chethana Gottam, MD

As reported to Medicare

Credential
MD
Primary specialty
Dermatology
Medical school graduation
2005
Medical school
University of Illinois College of Med (chi/peor/rock/chm-Urb)
National Provider Identifier (NPI)
1669664009

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

# of Removal of Skin Cancer Procedures Billed to Medicare
1-10

Total number of removal of skin cancer procedures this clinician billed to Medicare in the most recent 12-month claims period, according to CMS.

Why is it showing a range? To protect patient privacy, CMS reports a "1-10" range for the number of procedures when a clinician bills Medicare only one to ten times for qualifying procedures.

Percentile Rank (%)
8% or below

A range of 1-10 procedures places a clinician at or below the 8th percentile.

The figures above reflect only procedures that this clinician billed to Medicare, according to CMS. Therefore, they may not reflect the total number of procedures this clinician performed during the 12-month reporting period. See Understanding CMS Data below.

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (October 2, 2026 release).

Chethana Gottam's Removal of Skin Cancer Billing Volume Compared to Peers

This clinician: 8th percentile or below 0% 20% 40% 60% 80% 100% 0 1-10 139 25th pct. 383 Median 742 75th pct. 7,403 Highest # of Removal of Skin Cancer Procedures Billed to Medicare Percentile Rank (%) This clinician: 8th percentile or below 0% 20% 40% 60% 80% 100% 0 1-10 139 25th pct. 383 Median 742 75th pct. 7,403 Highest # of Removal of Skin Cancer Procedures Billed to Medicare Percentile Rank (%)

CMS reports this clinician's count as a range rather than an exact number, so no single point can be marked. Every clinician CMS reports as 1-10 sits below every clinician with an exact count above that range, which puts them at or below the 8th percentile: the highlighted block. The shaded block covers the 266 clinicians CMS reports as 1-10, because CMS suppresses counts below 11.

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (October 2, 2026 release).

Removal of skin cancer procedures billed to Medicare at each tenth percentile of clinicians with a primary specialty of dermatology, micrographic dermatologic surgery, plastic and reconstructive surgery, otolaryngology, ophthalmology, general surgery, hand surgery, or surgical oncology. This clinician: CMS reports a range, so they sit at or below the 8th percentile.
PercentileRemoval of Skin Cancer Procedures billed to Medicare
10th24
20th102
30th182
40th279
50th383
60th516
70th657
80th843
90th1,150
Highest7,403

Previous data releases

The table shows this clinician's figures from each CMS data release.

CMS data release Removal of skin cancer procedures billed Percentile rank
October 2, 2026 Current 1-10 8% or below
August 18, 2026 Prior Not reported Not reported
August 11, 2026 Prior Not reported Not reported

CMS does not publish the start and end dates of the window behind any release, and consecutive releases may cover overlapping periods, or the same period with later-arriving claims added.

Understanding CMS Data

This count includes Mohs micrographic surgery. CMS counts each billing code separately, so a single skin cancer that takes more than one stage can contribute more than once to this total. CMS reports only procedures that clinicians billed to Original Medicare and Medicare Advantage. Therefore, CMS's procedure volume data does not include procedures that clinicians may have performed on patients who have other health care coverage (e.g., commercial insurance, self-pay, or the VA). Billing variation and coding errors can also affect CMS's data. Therefore, the number of procedures that CMS reports for a clinician may be higher or lower than the actual number of removal of skin cancer procedures a clinician performed during the reporting period. Lastly, only clinicians with a primary specialty of dermatology, micrographic dermatologic surgery, plastic and reconstructive surgery, otolaryngology, ophthalmology, general surgery, hand surgery, or surgical oncology (as reported to Medicare) are presented.

We use CMS's percentile formula with a narrower comparison group than CMS's own, so our percentile can differ from the one CMS publishes.

How CMS counts removal of skin cancer procedures, and how we calculate the percentile