Rand Colbert, MD
As reported to Medicare
- Credential
- MD
- Primary specialty
- Dermatology
- Medical school graduation
- 2003
- Medical school
- Medical College of Wisconsin
- National Provider Identifier (NPI)
- 1073692380
CMS does not report a removal of skin cancer volume for this clinician in the August 18, 2026 release.
CMS publishes a procedure volume only for clinicians who billed Original Medicare or Medicare Advantage for one or more procedures in this category during the period a release covers.
This clinician may therefore have performed the procedure one or more times during that period without billing Medicare for it.
Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (August 18, 2026 release).
Previous data releases
CMS refreshes this data "on a quarterly basis, as technically feasible." The table shows this clinician's figures from each CMS data release.
| CMS data release | Removal of skin cancer procedures billed | Percentile rank |
|---|---|---|
| August 18, 2026 Current | Not reported | Not reported |
| August 11, 2026 Prior | 16 | 9% |
About these releases. Each release counts procedures over what CMS describes as "a one-year observation window, with a lookback beginning three months prior to the present day", allowing three months for claims to be submitted and processed. CMS does not publish the start and end dates of the window behind any release, and consecutive releases may cover overlapping periods, or the same period with later-arriving claims added.
Understanding CMS Data
CMS's "Removal of skin cancer" category combines specific billing codes for Mohs micrographic surgery to calculate the number of times each clinician billed Medicare for "Removal of skin cancer." In Mohs surgery, the clinician removes a skin cancer in stages and examines each stage under a microscope during the same visit. CMS counts each billing code separately, so a single skin cancer that takes more than one stage can contribute more than once to this total. CMS reports removal of a skin cancer by standard excision, without microscopic examination during the visit, in a different category, so this total does not include it. CMS reports only procedures that clinicians billed to Original Medicare and Medicare Advantage. Therefore, CMS's procedure volume data does not include procedures that clinicians may have performed on patients who have other health care coverage (e.g., commercial insurance, self-pay, or the VA). Billing variation and coding errors can also affect CMS's data. Therefore, the number of procedures that CMS reports for a clinician may be higher or lower than the actual number of removal of skin cancer procedures a clinician performed during the reporting period. Lastly, only clinicians with a primary specialty of dermatology, micrographic dermatologic surgery, plastic and reconstructive surgery, otolaryngology, ophthalmology, general surgery, hand surgery, or surgical oncology (as reported to Medicare) are presented.
National Percentile Calculation
CMS publishes its own percentile for this data using a single, national pool that also includes clinicians with other primary specialties, such as Physician Assistant and Nurse Practitioner. We use CMS's percentile formula, but restrict the comparison group to clinicians with a primary specialty of dermatology, micrographic dermatologic surgery, plastic and reconstructive surgery, otolaryngology, ophthalmology, general surgery, hand surgery, or surgical oncology, so our number answers a narrower question: how does this clinician's procedure volume compare with other clinicians who billed Medicare for at least one removal of skin cancer procedure and reported one of those as their primary specialty?